The Lion King

Last night, for my much awaited birthday present (my birthday was December 23rd), my father brought me to see Disney’s The Lion King musical at the ASU Gammage Auditorium. The costumes were so unique and imaginative yet realistic. All the animals and plants were played by performers in costumes. It was unlike anything I have ever seen before and sure I will not see again. The amount of creativity and talent that I was seeing on stage baffled me. Disney took a HUGE risk with choosing their choreographer considering he was so unknown and unique in his vision, and it definitely paid off. It has been 12 years since The Lion King debuted and it is still selling out.If you ever get a chance to see it, by God, see it! It was PHENOMENAL!

~ by Jenee' on February 6, 2009.

One Response to “The Lion King”

  1. […] Taymor will be directing the musical. Taymor, in 1998, for her direction of the Broadway musical The Lion King, was the first female director to earn the Tony Award for Best Direction of a Musical. Bono and The […]

Leave a comment